Being Everything to Everyone

I am probably dating myself, but does anyone remember the Enjoli commercial from way back when? This beautiful, thin, professionally dressed women sang “I can bring home the bacon, fry it up in the pan, . . . and never let him forget he’s a man. . . “. The message was that you could it all in the workplace, at home and still be the woman your husband desires.

I grew up in the 60’s – 70’s timeframe during the women’s movement. I LOVED that commercial and my goal was to be that woman. Does this sound familiar to anyone? To pile on top of the Enjoli commercial was the commercial for Tab, the soft drink. This one had a beautiful, thin blond woman pushing a stroller, wearing short shorts, perfect makeup, perfect hair and the biggest “I own the world smile”. I wanted to be her too.

I have wasted countless years (not hours) trying to live up to that perfection. While I want to be good at everything I do, now that I am older and wiser those ideas have faded. Years of experience trying to do it all, allow me to have a different perspective. I do believe that you can have it all but you cannot have it all at the same time. There are times when the job is demanding, there are times when the family needs you, there are times when your children need you to help them build a strong foundation they can stand on to get through life.

You can have it all, but you have to decide what “all” means to you. It all comes down to setting your priorities and understanding what you value most. If you understand what is most important to you and you prioritize your time and energy around those things, you will feel balanced. You will feel that for your life, you can have it all, because you will take care of those people or those things (like friendship) that matter the most.

About leadershiprefined

I am a Hall-of-Fame winning sales manager with 24 years of experience in corporate America. My strength is building vibrant, high-performing teams.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

